ezyhost.blogg.se

Deep freeze software fix
Deep freeze software fix











deep freeze software fix
  1. DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX HOW TO
  2. DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX INSTALL
  3. DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX UPDATE

DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX INSTALL

You would then copy the Persi0.sys file from the non-password system to the frozen system, reboot and voilà your thawed This seemed to have promise.Īs I have 11 other systems in the computer centre with Deep Freeze already installed and my issue was not that I forgot the password, which if you are wondering, can also be by passed the same way, just create a new Deep Freeze install on another system with the pass you want, then copy the files. I came across a few posts that said to go to a secondary system, install Deep Freeze without a password (again must have been earlier versions, as you can’t do that with the latest version) and thaw the drive. Now these might have worked if I wanted to uninstall Deep Freeze, but like I said earlier, I like the app, all I wanted was to thaw the drive.

DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX HOW TO

So I hit the net where there were tutorials which explained how to hack the registry, or how to fool the system from Safe Mode (where apparently earlier versions of Deep Freeze was disabled, not any more though).

DEEP FREEZE SOFTWARE FIX UPDATE

Needless to say, with tech support shrugging the shoulders, I knew I was in for a ride as I needed to do one last update (it slipped my mind before I froze it). Why I don’t know, as booting directly to VHD has been around since 7 was released and I have found a lot of documentation written within the last 4 years about it. I made a tech support call to Faronics to see if they even supported VHDs, and by the sounds of the tech on the other end, I don t think they have ever tested it in this kind of environment. Even though I entered the admin console and stated to boot thawed, it would always boot in a frozen state.

deep freeze software fix

So in my situation I installed Deep Freeze on the Windows 7 VHD, which worked great at freezing the image, however it was permanently frozen. It’s quite simple once you get to understanding how the boot process works. First Partition (becomes D: when booted) has access removed via GPO so no ones messes with the VHD files.Physical Hard Drive does NOT contain an OS.Second Partition used as a “Thawspace” to transfer files between the two OSes.First Partition has 2 VHD Files which are configured to be bootable ( see how).1 physical hard drive with 2 partitions.So here is the new set up I have laid out for the Lab, and I got it running on a test system after some trial and error when it came to the Windows 7 side: We use a nice piece of software (I think its pretty cool, most people on the net don’t) and thus far it has worked without issue. I have made the decision to convert our Computer Centre and Classroom PCs over to VHDs so that they would be easier to maintain. If you are a follower of my blog you know that recently I have done a lot of work with Virtual Hard Drives.













Deep freeze software fix